Researching Digital Interculturality
Co-operatively

Ein interdisziplinäres Projekt zur Stärkung des Fachs Interkulturelle Kommunikation

ReDICo stellt sich vor

Im Zuge der Verwischung kultureller Grenzen und der Verschmelzung von physischen mit virtuellen Räumen sind Interkulturalität und Digitalisierung zwei Konzepte, die gemeinsam betrachtet werden müssen, da sie tief miteinander verwoben sind. Unser Forschungsprojekt ReDICo (Researching Digital Interculturality Co-operatively) widmet sich der kooperativen Erforschung Digitaler Interkulturalität. Als Anhänger einer wissenschaftlichen Interkulturellen Kommunikation lassen wir uns von der kritischen und kulturbewussten interdisziplinären Internetforschung beeinflussen. ReDICo bietet allen Personen unabhängig ihrer institutionellen Einbindung Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten, so durch den „Digital Interculturality Research Hub“, einer Plattform auf dem Glocal Campus, und durch eine Reihe von gemeinsam ausgerichteten virtuellen Konferenzen (E-Co-Konferenzen). Dabei orientieren wir uns an den Maßstäben der Nachhaltigkeit und Inklusivität. Wir untersuchen also nicht nur theoretisch Digitale Interkulturalität, wir setzen sie auch praktisch um!

Interessieren Sie sich für unsere Forschung und Aktivitäten?
Klicken Sie hier!

Newsfeed

Neue Veröffentlichung: E-Book „Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities“
Neue Veröffentlichung: E-Book „Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities“

Wir freuen uns, die Veröffentlichung des ersten ReDICo E-Books „Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities“ bekanntzugeben, herausgegeben von Luisa Conti und Fergal Lenehan aus dem ReDICo-Team.

Der Auftaktband der Reihe „Studies in Digital Interculturality“ basiert auf den Beiträgen der ersten ReDICo E-Co-Konferenz und widmet sich der Frage, wie das Potenzial der digitalen Sphäre zur Förderung interkultureller Kompetenz genutzt werden kann.

mehr lesen
PhD-Workshop und Kolloquium in Jena
PhD-Workshop und Kolloquium in Jena

ReDICo und der Hochschulverband für interkulturelle Studien e.V. (IKS) organisieren den PhD-Workshop „Erkundung der Dynamik von Interdisziplinarität in der Analyse digitaler interkultureller Daten“ und ein PhD-Kolloquium im Rahmen von ReDICos dritter jährlicher wissenschaftlicher Veranstaltung „ReDICo 2024 Encounters“.
Die Veranstaltung findet am 4. und 5. März 2024 an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena statt.

mehr lesen

Vorträge und Veröffentlichungen

Mit unserer Forschung greifen wir vorhandene Erkenntnisse auf und entwickeln davon ausgehend neue Schlussfolgerungen rund um die digitale Interkulturalität. Dabei profitieren wir von der Interdisziplinarität unseres Teams und agieren stets kooperativ. Unsere Vorträge und Veröffentlichungen richten sich an ein breites Publikum: Im Laufe des Projekts treten wir auf Konferenzen auf, führen Workshops durch, reichen Beiträge in Journals ein und geben mehrere Publikationen heraus, in denen Sie auch Erkenntnisse externer Wissenschaftler:innen finden können. Wir bemühen uns um eine Vielfalt an Formaten und um einen möglichst barrierefreien Zugang zu allen unseren Ergebnissen. Viele davon können wir sogar auf dieser Webseite zum Download anbieten.

Team und Netzwerk

ReDICo basiert auf interkultureller, mehrsprachiger und interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit. Unser Kernteam besteht aus Forscher:innen der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und der Universität Potsdam.

Researching Digital Interculturality
Co-operatively

An interdisciplinary project strengthening intercultural communication scholarship

Introducing ReDICo

As cultural boundaries blur and virtual and physical spaces merge, interculturality and digitalization mould our everyday world. We’re convinced that these dual concepts should be viewed together, as they are frequently deeply entangled in various contexts. This is what our research project ReDICo is dedicated to: Researching Digital Interculturality Co-operatively. Our vision is of a scholarly Intercultural Communication, informed by the perspectives of a critical and culturally-aware interdisciplinary Internet Studies. ReDICo also seeks to be an inclusive and environmentally-conscious research network, connecting academics and non-academics world-wide via our platform on the Glocal Campus, “Digital Interculturality Research Hub“, and a number of co-hosted virtual conferences (E-Co-Conferences). We therefore don’t just study Digital Interculturality, we also actually do it!

Maybe you’re interested in our research and activities?
Then take a closer look!

News Feed

New publication: E-Book “Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities”
New publication: E-Book “Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities”

We are happy to announce the publication of the first ReDICo e-book “Lifewide Learning in Postdigital Societies: Shedding Light on Emerging Culturalities” edited by ReDICo members Luisa Conti and Fergal Lenehan.
The inaugural volume of the “Studies in Digital Interculturality” series is based on contributions to the first ReDICo E-Co-Conference and centres on the harnessing of the digital sphere’s potential to foster intercultural competence.

read more
PhD Workshop and Colloquium in Jena
PhD Workshop and Colloquium in Jena

ReDICo and the University Association of Intercultural Studies (Hochschulverband für interkulturelle Studien e.V., IKS) are organizing the PhD Workshop Exploring the Dynamics of Interdisciplinarity in the Analysis of Digital Intercultural Data and a PhD Colloquium in the scope of ReDICo’s third annual scientific event “ReDICo 2024 Encounters”.
The event will take place at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena on March 4-5, 2024.

read more
ReDICo 2024 Encounters: Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Digital Interculturality
ReDICo 2024 Encounters: Interdisciplinary Perspectives on Digital Interculturality

The ReDICo 2024 Encounters is the third edition of ReDICo’s annual conferences. It is being organized by Milene Mendes de Oliveira and Luisa Conti with a view to exploring the impact of digital practices on the notion of interculturality. Experts in sociolinguistics and intercultural communication will engage in dialogue with each other and with the audience in one on-site and six online Encounters.

Save the dates for a dynamic exchange of ideas!

read more

Presentations & Publications

With our research we build upon already existent arguments and results, developing them further, and looking for new conclusions surrounding Digital Interculturality. We also benefit directly from the interdisciplinarity of our team, while our working style is co-operative. Our papers and publications are directed towards a wide audience: During the life of the project we participate in conferences, lead workshops, enter articles for journals and produce a number of publications, in which the arguments of external academics may also be found. We consciously strive towards a multiplicity of formats and barrier-free access to our results. We, indeed, offer many of these as downloads here upon our website.

Team & Network

ReDICo builds on intercultural, multilingual, and interdisciplinary collaboration. Our core team comprises researchers based at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz and Universität Potsdam.